Council Committees

Committees of Council

The Warden is an ex-officio member of all Committees of Council. Listings are in alphabetical order.

Alderwood & Highland Manor

Nursing home oversight

Alderwood: Councillors Barbara Longva, Perla MacLeod, Paul MacNeil, Bruce Morrison, Fraser Patterson

Highland Manor: Larry Dauphinee, Barbara Longva, Jackie Organ, Norman MacDonald, Bruce Morrison


Age Friendly Committee

Oversees programs for all ages

Councillors Larry Dauphinee, Barbara Longva, Norman MacDonald, Bruce Morrison, Fraser Patterson (chair)

Audit/Budget Committee

Provides financial oversight, budget review & recommendations

All council

Citizen member: Graham Steele


Broadband Committee

Oversees internet and cellular issues

Councillors Larry Dauphinee, Paul MacNeil (chair), Fraser Patterson, Bruce Morrison

Housing Committee

Oversees all municipal housing issues, including a housing strategy

Councillors Larry Dauphinee, Barbara Longva, Norman MacDonald, Perla MacLeod, Bruce Morrison


Joint Police Advisory Board*

Oversees issues relating to policing in Victoria County

*The JPAB is in the process of being established.

Public Works Committee

Oversees public works, solid waste & all aspects of the 4 municipal water utilities

All Council

Seniors’ Safety Committee

Oversees senior safety for the municipality

Councillors Larry Dauphinee, Barbara Longva, Perla MacLeod (co-chair), Bruce Morrison, Fraser Patterson (co-chair)


Victoria County Transit Committee

Oversees affordable and available transit on non-specific routes (i.e.: Dial-a-ride)

Councillors Larry Dauphinee, Perla MacLeod (chair), Norman MacDonald, Bruce Morrison, Fraser Patterson

Victoria County Planning Advisory Committee

Oversees zoning and land use Districts 2 & 3

Councillors Perla MacLeod, Paul MacNeil, Bruce Morrison

Also includes representatives from the Village of Baddeck.

Community Members-At-Large: David Fairchild, Paul Harvey, David Parkinson


Other Committees

The following are appointments. Councillors are required to be members, by the organization or by a motion of council. All listings are alphabetical.

Bras d’Or Lake Biosphere Reserve

Oversees activities in the Bras d’Or Lake watershed

Councillor Perla MacLeod

Cape Breton Library Board (private board)

Oversees library functions around the county

Councillor Barbara Longva

Victoria County citizen member: Terry Murray

CEPI (The Bras d’Or Lakes Collaborative Environmental Planning Initiative)

A First Nations-led group overseeing environmental planning in the Bras d’Or watershed

Councillors Barbara Longva, Paul MacNeil (Co-chair)


Eastern District Planning Commission

Councillors Perla MacLeod, Paul MacNeil (alternate), Bruce Morrison

Inverness-Victoria Federation of Agriculture

Oversees agricultural land use and laws in Victoria & Inverness Counties

Councillor Fraser Patterson



Municipal & Mi’kmaq leaders working on environmental issues on the Bras d’Or Lakes

Councillors Barbara Longva, Paul MacNeil

Victoria County Home Support (private board)

Oversees the operation of Victoria County Home Support Service

Council Representatives: Norman MacDonald, Bruce Morrison, Jackie Organ, Fraser Patterson

Victoria Memorial Hospital Foundation (private board)

Fundraising/recruitment promotion for Victoria County Memorial Hospital

Council representatives: Perla MacLeod (alternative), Paul MacNeil, Bruce Morrison


More News

Community Grants

June 16, 2020

Victoria County Council approved the following grants to organizations: Community Grants 2020-2021...

Jim Bradley Recycling Depot

June 29, 2020

You may notice a slight change at our Baddeck site. The Jim Bradley Recycling Depot was officially unveiled by Mr...

2020-2021 Victoria County Budget

July 8, 2020

Municipal Council recently passed the 2020-2021 Victoria County Budget. Victoria County Victoria County Water Uti...